SRM Awards Scholarships to 300 Students from Perambalur Constituency

SRM Awards Scholarships to 300 Students from Perambalur Constituency

SRM Campus, Kattankulathur,  July 6, 2019: SRM Institute of Science and Technology has offered scholarships to 300 students resident in Perambalur  constituency. This was announced at a press meet by SRMIST Founder Chancellor and Perambalur MP, Dr. T. R Paarivendhar on Saturday.

The recipients hailing from economically weaker sections were selected based on their performance in their respective board examinations, he said.

Dr. Paarivendhar said he had wanted to give something back to people of the constituency who had elected him as their representative in Parliament. He said students should utilize this opportunity to pursue higher studies. He assured that deserving students would get suitable placements.

He said out of a total of 1500 applications from aspirants, 300 students were shortlisted for different courses offered at SRMIST.

The break-up of overall seats allocation is as follows: Kulithalai 47, Lalgudi 47, Mannachanallur 29, Musiri 37, Perambalur 95 and  Thuraiyur 45. The list of recipients was handed over by Dr Paarivendhar to the Vice Chancellor Dr. Sandeep Sancheti.

Asked about  the meagre  allocation of  funds to private universities for research, Dr. Paarivendhar  said internally we are discussing with AIU and EPSI to allot more funds to encourage more research activities.

On the proposal by Union finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman in her budget for bringing legislation to set up a higher education commission to give shape to the new education policy, he said SRM faculty would give their inputs for the same. He hoped private universities would benefit from the creation of a National Research Foundation to fund research within the educational system.

On the water scarcity situation in Perambalur constituency, he said, “We are distributing water through tankers and digging borewells.”

Among those present were Vice Chancellor Dr. Sandeep Sancheti,  Vice Chancellors  Dr. T P Ganesan and Dr. R Balasubramanian, Director Admissions Dr. T. V. Gopal and Controller of Examinations Dr. S Ponnusamy.